Child Sexual Abuse and Clergy Abuse in Arizona
Child sexual abuse is one most horrendous criminal acts that occurs in this world. Every state has had to deal with this issue. The state of Arizona has had more than its fair share of child sexual abuse related crimes. This kind of abuse undermines the health of society. In most cases, the molester is someone who is in a position of authority like a teacher, tutor, elder family member, or even a parent. Not only do children physically endure the suffering but often the psychological aspects of such a situation affect a child’s future, sense of hope, and certainly their innocence.
In the state of Arizona, the case of Katie Sabin only came to light after she shot herself with her parents’ shotgun. Her friends and her diaries which gave detailed descriptions of the sexual abuse she faced at the hands of her own father stood as her witnesses. A sophomore in Marana High School in Arizona, Katie committed suicide at the age of 16. Her father Ricky Sabin was charged and convicted with 9 counts of felony child sexual abuse including incest and continuous sexual abuse of a child. The mother Denise Sabin was charged on 3 counts of child abuse and accessory as she knew about the situation and did nothing to remedy it. It is important to understand the symptoms of child sexual abuse so that these events can be reported and the criminals adequately charged and punished.
Statute of Limitations in Arizona
The state of Arizona prescribes a statute of limitations for registering a case of child sexual abuse. This means that if the case is not brought to light within a prescribed period of time within the statute, you will not be able to consult a lawyer and bring the matter to light. In other words, the villains walk. In the state of Arizona, the statute of limitations as of this moment is set at 2 years for lawsuits based on sexual abuse and resultant injuries. However, there is no statute of limitations for sexual conduct with or molestation of minors who are less than 15 years old. There is not any statute of limitations to register a crime of sexual abuse if the culprit is the minor’s “parent, step-parent, adoptive parent, legal guardian, foster parent, or the minor’s teacher, or clergyman or priest.” Finally, there is a 1 year statute of limitations for misdemeanor sex offences with children.
Most children are at such a tender age that they find themselves unable to confide in any adult about the kind of situation that they are facing. Cases like these need to be brought to light as soon as possible. Only timely action can result in some form of damage control.
Who to Contact
If you or someone you know has been a victim of teacher sexual abuse or coach sex abuse, the first thing to do is approach a teacher abuse lawyer or a coach sexual abuse lawyer. Rather than calling anybody or responding to the first ad you see, it is highly recommended that you speak to The Rogatinsky Firm. The Rogatinsky Firm is managed by Florida attorney and sexual abuse advocate Samuel Rogatinsky. Samuel Rogatinsky will listen to your circumstances and he will respect your privacy. You can reach him on his personal cell phone number at 954.444.4032 and he will respond to you very quickly. If you have been sexually abused, call him today on this number or toll free at 1.866.529.6262. Sam can help you but you must contact him now.